CONSIDERING a build?

Ask your build questions here. Welding, assembly, etc.
XORstatus1

CONSIDERING a build?

Post by XORstatus1 »

Hello all,
I am considering a m53 build. I have built AK's and other previously but I am NO expert. Just a weekend tinkerer.
I was wondering if there was an all inclusive source that details how to build one of theses things in complete detail, something similar.

Like I said I am considering the build but I want to know what Im getting into before I buy any parts.

Also does anyone know where to get a receiver?
I found the complete parts kits, less receiver from centerfresystems.com for $300

Thanks guys,
Jason
waffendude
Stabshauptmann
Stabshauptmann

Re: CONSIDERING a build?

Post by waffendude »

welcome xorstatus1
info on building ---look in the stickies section on this web site---also check out www.projectguns.com---there is also a lot of good info there.

with your kit --you will most likly need 1. frt barrel bearing (rtgparts)
2. a fire control group (ar15/fal)
3. a rear receiver (gunbroker ? ? ?---these are getting harder to get---watch the for sale section here --and ya might get luckly)
of course you will need to have the internals modified (bolt,fcg housing,receiver)
also get some manuals for the 42 from jbaum--here on this site---www.germanmanuals.com ? ?
get lots of ammo,try to use the romy 8mm---it seems to have less problems than others
these are awesome when complete ---by far my favorite gun
thats my .02
good luck and happy building
waffen
XORstatus1

Post by XORstatus1 »

Thank you for the response I will check that website out.

Would this be a good starting point?
http://centerfiresystems.com/KIT-M53.aspx

It says that it comes with no receiver parts? I believe that they mean the internals?

Also are there other more complete kits available?

Thank you,
Jason
flemgunner
Brigadegeneral
Brigadegeneral

Post by flemgunner »