operating cycle: help me understand

Anything MG42 related.
rafaga

operating cycle: help me understand

Post by rafaga »

Hi All,

I have no experience with the mg42 but am toying with the idea of a build in the future. Trying to learn as much as I can beforehand.

I'm curious about some details of the operating cycle.
1- What is the approximate length of the barrel stroke.
2- As it appears the barrel travels a short distance, does the recuperator return the barrel fully forward before the bolt comes back forward?
3- Is there a link to a clear explanation of the op cycle somewhere?

Thanks in advance for any help.
DARIVS ARCHITECTVS
Field Marshal
Field Marshal
Anti-spam: Mg42

Re: operating cycle: help me understand

Post by DARIVS ARCHITECTVS »

The barrel moves back roughly 3/8".

The recuperator does return the barrel to the forward most position before the bolt cycles and begins it's forward movement again, picking up a new round in the process. if the barrel were in the rear position and the bolt in the forward position, the bolt would not lock into the barrel locking piece, because the cams of the camming piece would prevent the rollers from moving to the outboard, locking positions.

Ffolke Myrvang's book "MG34/42 Universal Machineguns" is the nest book out there and has details as to the full operating cycle. No self respecting MG-42 owner would be without it (except maybe Bil, who has enough trouble getting respect from us, much less himself :lol: ).
DARIVS ARCHITECTVS
Knight's Armoury
rafaga

Post by rafaga »

Thanks for the info. I'll have to search out a copy of that book.